96 candidates contesting for 08 Lok Sabha seatsin Uttar Pradesh during first phase of General Elections -2019

In Uttar Pradesh,India’s largest State electorally, a total of 96 contestants are in fray for the 08 Lok Sabha seats going for polls in the first phase of the General Election- 2019. All 80 Lok Sabha seat of the State are scheduled for polls in seven phases. The 08 seats going for polls in the first phase are Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad and Gautam Buddha Nagar which will see polling on 11th April, 2019. A total 122 candidates had finally contested for these seats in previous Genral Election – 2014.

In this General Election the number of independent candidates has also come down significantly on these 08 seats. While 47 independent candidates had contested in previous General Election -2014, this year only 20 Independent candidates are in the fray for above mentioned 08 seats.

Constituency wise number of contestants for these 08 seats in the upcoming General Elections andpreceding two General Elections is as below:

General Election Year  

Number of Contestants inLok Sabha Constituency

  Saharanpur Kairana Muzaffarnagar Bijnor Meerut Baghpat Ghaziabad Gautam B. Nagar
2019* 11 13 10 13 11 13 12 13
2014 14 11 19 12 13 14 15 24
2009 15 15 23 23 29 16 16 26

Source – ECI website

*CEO (Uttar Pradesh) website


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button