Breaking News India National Capital State



Present State Government’s Tenure and Tentative Date of Next Assembly Elections in Delhi
|| TAC News Bureau

The election commission has announced the dates with the schedule for Delhi Assembly Election 2020. As per ECI, the voting will be conducted in a single phase on February 8. The fate of candidates by counting of votes will be conducted on February 11. As per the latest update, there are 1.46 Crore eligible voters set to vote for the Delhi Vidhansabha election 2020.


There are as many as70 Assembly constituencies in the Delhi Legislative Assembly. The term of the current assembly shall end on 22 February 2020. In Delhi assembly election 2015, AAP had won a Himalayan victory by grabbing 67 seats while BJP was a winner only in 3 seats and Congress could not able to open the party’s account.


With the announcement of the election schedule, the model code of conduct will be effective immediately in Delhi. There are a total of 13,750 polling stations for Delhi Assembly Election 2020. The election commission will deploy about 90,000 officers for conducting elections. For this election, voters will be provided with QR code enabled voter slips which will aid in speeding up the polling process.

Some Important Details

The poll watchdog, Election Commission of Delhi has already published the final electoral list, according to which 1.46 crore voters are eligible to cast their franchise in the coming Delhi Assembly elections.

The term of the 70-member Delhi Assembly shall be suspended on February 22 and a new Assembly has to be constituted before that particular date. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) came to power in Delhi in February 2015 sweeping 67 of the 70 Assembly seats Led by Arvind Kejriwal.

A new concept of “absentee voters” has been introduced for the very 1st time which shall be implemented from this Delhi Assembly Election

-Pick and drop facility will be provided for all senior citizen voters along with Divyaangs.


Out of total 70, Delhi assembly has 58 general category seats, 12 for SC and none for STs as per Sunil Arora, chief election commissioner.


The man in charge, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Delhi Ranbir Singh said the final publication of voters list shows that there is a total of 1,46,92,136 voters in Delhi including 80.55 lakh males and 66.35 lakh females.


Poll Events


  Date of Issue of Gazette Notification

14.01.2020 (Tuesday)

 Last Date for making Nominations

21.01.2020 (Tuesday)

  The date for Scrutiny of Nominations

22.01.2020 (Wednesday)

Last date for withdrawal of candidature

24.01.2020 (Friday)

Date of poll 

08.02.2020 (Saturday)

Date of Counting

11.02.2020 (Tuesday)

   Date of Completion 

13.02.2020 (Thursday)




Related posts

CM lays foundation stone of National Skill Training Institute for Women


We , the people of India

TAC Delhi

Delhi’s air ‘very poor’ on Friday morning

TAC Delhi

Uttar Pradesh: An unprecedented death of a woman Constable

TAC Delhi

How is the economy sluggish? Films are earning Crores of Rupees

TAC Delhi

Menstrual Disorder

The Asian Chronicle

Leave a Comment