Schedule for bye-elections

Schedule for bye-elections to fill casual vacancy in the Lok Sabha from Parliamentary Constituencies of Karnataka and State Legislative Assemblies of Karnataka.

There are threeclear vacancies in the LokSabha from Parliamentary Constituencies of Karnataka, which need to be filled up:


Sl. No. State Number & Name of Parliamentary Constituency
1 Karnataka 14 – Shimoga PC
2 Karnataka 9 – Bellary (ST) PC
3 Karnataka 20 – Mandya PC


There are twoclear vacancies in the State Legislative Assembly of Karnataka, which need to be filled up:


Sl. No. State Number & Name of Assembly Constituency
1 Karnataka 183–Ramanagaram AC
2 Karnataka 21– Jamkhandi  AC


After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies  as per the programme mentioned as under: –

Poll Events


Date of Issue of Gazette Notification

9.10.2018 (TUE)

Last Date of Nominations

16.10.2018 (TUE)

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations

17.10.2018 (WED)

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures

20.10.2018 (SAT)

Date of Poll

03.11.2018 (SAT)

Date of Counting

06.11.2018 (TUE)

Date before which election shall be completed

08.11.2018 (THU)


The Electoral Rolls for all the aforesaid LokSabha and Assembly Constituencies have been finally published w.r.t 01.01.2018.



The Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-elections in allthepollingstations.Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available and all steps have been taken toensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.


In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided thatthevoter’sidentificationshallbe mandatory in theaforementioned bye- elections at the time of poll. Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) shall be themaindocumentofidentificationofavoter.However,inorderto ensure that no voterisdeprivedofhis/herfranchise,ifhis/hernamefiguresin the Electoral Rolls,separateinstructionswillbeissued to allow additional documents for identification of voters at the timeof poll in the said bye-elections.


TheModelCodeofConductshallcome into force with immediate effectinthedistrict(s)inwhichthe whole or any part of the Parliamentary/Assembly Constituencygoingforbye-electionisincluded, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission’s instruction No. 437/6/INST2016-CCS, dated 29th June, 2017 (available on the Commission’s website). TheModelCodeof Conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the State Government concerned. The Model Code of Conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the State concerned.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button