Second Phase of General Elections in Assam on 18th April


Assam will go to Polls in Second Phase of General Elections on 18th April. Polling will be held in 5 Lok Sabha Seats of Karimganj, Silchar, Autonomous District, Mangaldoi and Nawgong.

50 candidates, including 3 women, 19 Independents and 7 others, will be contesting for these 5 Lok Sabha seats.

6910592 voters comprising of 3554460 males, 3355952 females and 180 voters in Third Gender category will cast their votes in this phase.

8992 Polling stations have been set up for smooth conduct of Polls in the state.



Following is the distribution of voters in Assam General Elections in Phase 2: —

Following is the detail of contesting parties: —


No. of Parliamentary Constituencies (PCs) Total PCs: 14

PCs in 2nd Phase: 5




Details of Contesting Parties:

Party No. of Contesting Candidates
BJP 05
INC 05
All India Trinamool Congress 04
All India Forward Bloc 02
All India United Democratic Front 01
National People’s Party 02
Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) 03
Assam Jana Morcha 02
Others 07
Independents 19
No. of Candidates Total candidates: 50

Women candidates: 03







Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button